The best of the best financial planners awarded at 2022 FPA Professional Congress

The Financial Planning Association of Australia (FPA) has announced the winners of the 2022 FPA Awards and the Gwen Fletcher Memorial Award at the FPA Professionals Congress in Sydney.

Now in its tenth year, the FPA Awards recognise individuals and businesses across Australia who deliver the highest standard of professional and trusted advice to consumers. The awards also acknowledge outstanding university students who represent the future of the financial planning profession.

The winner of the FPA CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER® Professional of the Year Award is Andy Reynolds CFP® of EFS Advice. The award acknowledges Andy’s commitment to the profession, and the care and diligence he shows clients who are going through life altering events.

FPA CEO Sarah Abood said: “Andy’s approach to supporting his clients’ understanding of complex financial issues, especially those clients with cognitive issues, is truly moving.

“Andy really does go above and beyond for his clients and his use of tools such as diagrams and videos to help support clients’ understanding is a practical demonstration of that.

“Andy’s depth of knowledge in his specialty field, and his understanding of both the tangible and intangible impacts of his advice, impressed the judges.

“Further, his advocacy at a grassroots level, including with super funds and lawyers to improve their processes, is to the benefit of his clients and the financial planning profession more broadly,” said Ms Abood.

The winner of the FPA Professional Practice of the Year Award is Alman Partners based in Mackay, QLD. The judges selected Alman Partners based on its clear succession plan, which involved supporting advisers to becoming partners in the practice, and its continued commitment to diversity. The judging panel was also impressed by the in-depth annual audit the practice undertakes to be accredited with the Global Fiduciary Accreditation (currently held by just seven Australian firms).

Lili Hong AFP® from Future Gen Solutions is the winner of the FPA Financial Planner AFP® of the Year Award. The judges commended Lili on her dedication to building a reputable career as a financial planner. As an advocate for the profession and its future, Lili demonstrated dedication to her clients, and assisted those in need while looking for unconventional solutions to help migrants understand Australia’s complex financial services system.

The FPA University Student of the Year Award was awarded to Matthew Kanizay of Deakin University. Matthew was selected by the judges based on his strong understanding of the challenges and opportunities facing the sector. He is a well-rounded student who has participated in a number of extra-curricular activities and demonstrated an ability to connect and develop a skillset as a future financial planner.

The Gwen Fletcher Memorial Award recognises the highest performing student in the final unit of the CFP® Certification Program. Brigitta Hembrow Gersey CFP® from Elston Private Wealth Pty Ltd, is the 2022 Semester One winner of the honorary award named after the late “first lady of financial planning”, Gwen Fletcher.

Ms Abood said: “The CFP® Certification Program is a rigorous program of study, and to win this award is a real achievement.

“Congratulations to Brigitta for her outstanding performance and commitment.

“These awards shine a light on those making a difference to the financial planning profession, the financial services industry and to all Australians.

“On behalf of everyone at the FPA, congratulations to the deserving winners of these awards,” said Ms Abood.

Related Posts